• News

Coulthard wins 2014 Race of Champions

ESPN Staff
December 14, 2014 « Korea on 2015 calendar for legal reasons - Ecclestone | Hamilton crowned Sports Personality of the Year »
© Sutton Images

David Coulthard won the 2014 Race of Champions in Barbados by defeating Mercedes reserve driver Pascal Wehrlein in the final.

Coulthard - who won 13 grands prix in a 14-year F1 career - only needed two races in the best-of-three final to win the series for the first time. The Scot beat Wehrlein by a 1.5s in the first race, driving the ROC Buggy, before holding off a late charge to win the second race in an Ariel Atom.

To get to the final, Coulthard dispatched 2003 World Rally champion Petter Solderg before seeing off Australian V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup. Wehrlein had defeated Lotus reserve driver Esteban Ocon to reach the final, while defending champion Romain Grosjean went out in the group stages.

Earlier on Sunday Solberg and Le Mans legend Tom Kristensen scooped the Nations Cup trophy for Team Nordic.