• Autosport principals' poll

Fernando Alonso the bosses' driver of the year

ESPNF1 Staff
December 4, 2010 « Ferrari confirms Badoer exit | »
Fernando Alonso: 'Another reason to claim this has been an amazing season' © Sutton Images
Related Links

Fernando Alonso was the driver of the year according to F1's 12 team principals in the end-of-season poll conducted by Autosport magazine.

"I am very pleased to learn that the majority of team principals chose me as their best driver of the year," Alonso said, "even if it goes without saying that I would have preferred to receive that accolade in the guise of world champion.

"It is yet another reason to claim this has been an amazing season, despite the disappointment at the final hurdle. The team and I fought all the way to the very end, without ever giving up, even when it all seemed like a lost cause: we staged a remarkable comeback. Next year, we will be looking to do better."

Ferrari boss Stefano Domenicali said: "It's hardly a secret that he is a talented driver … [and] it was an honour for us to work with him from the human perspective. Fernando was a driving force and our aim next year will be to give him and Felipe a car which is competitive at the very highest level, right from the first race."

World champion Sebastian Vettel was a close second after winning the poll last year, while Nico Hulkenberg, dropped by Williams, was the only rookie in the top ten.

The principals ranked their top tens and then points were awarded points in the same way they were during the season, with the top-ranked driver getting 25, the second 18 and so on.

1  Fernando Alonso                    Ferrari           229
2  Sebastian Vettel                   Red Bull          220
3  Lewis Hamilton                     McLaren           196
4  Mark Webber                        Red Bull          146
5  Robert Kubica                      Renault           129
6  Jenson Button                      McLaren            86
7  Nico Rosberg                       Mercedes           68
8= Nico Hulkenberg                    Williams           17
8= Felipe Massa                       Ferrari            17
10 Rubens Barrichello                 Williams           11