• ESPNF1's driver of the year

Vettel voted ESPNF1 driver of the year

ESPNF1 Staff
December 20, 2010 « Rule changes will help us catch Red Bull - Alonso | »
Sebastian Vettel was voted ESPNF1's driver of the year © Sutton Images

Sebastian Vettel has been voted ESPNF1's driver of the year by a panel of experts including Sir Stirling Moss and Sir Jackie Stewart.

2010 champion Vettel was the resounding favourite among the panel after he took ten pole positions and five race victories over the course of the season. ESPNF1 asked big names in the sport, including Moss, Stewart, Sir Frank Williams, Gerard Lopez, Tonio Liuzzi, Sam Bird as well as members of the its editorial staff.

On hearing about the accolade, Vettel said: "Thank you for this award! The whole year was such a unique experience, there were some great moments, which I will never forget, but there were also some difficult times too. I am very proud of what our team achieved. We will soon be facing new challenges and the aim for next year is to defend both titles. There is a lot to do, but for now - I would like to wish everyone a very merry Christmas and see you next year!"

On Tuesday ESPNF1 will publish the results of its team of the year poll before the panel's views on the 2010 season and predictions for next year are published later in the week.

Read ESPNF1's driver of the year report in full here.