• Premier League

RDM fumes at Torres red as Fergie thanks his lucky stars

ESPN staff
October 28, 2012

Sir Alex Ferguson admits Manchester United had a slice of luck as they closed the gap on leaders Chelsea with a 3-2 victory at Stamford Bridge.

The Blues finished the game with nine men after Branislav Ivanovic and Fernando Torres were sent off, and Javier Hernandez appeared to have been offside before he scored the winner 15 minutes from time.

United's last league win at Stamford Bridge came back in April 2002, and while Ferguson believed Torres deserved to be awarded a second yellow card for diving after Jonny Evans' challenge, he admitted Hernandez was fortunate with his goal.

"It's been 10 years since we have won down here," Ferguson told Sky Sports. "We had a good record until Jose [Mourinho] came along and spoiled the party.

"We've never got breaks down here and had some terrible decisions against us in the last few years. But today we have got a little break for the goal - Chicharito may have been offside."

On Torres' red card Ferguson said: "The decision the referee has to make is whether the striker has chosen to go down. He was through on goal - I don't know why he has gone down. I think it's his own fault."

Roberto Di Matteo was furious at Mark Clattenburg, claiming the referee's decision to send Torres off cost Chelsea all three points.

"I think the key decisions from the referee today probably influenced the result," Di Matteo said. "He sent off Fernando Torres and then the third goal is offside and that clearly decided the game for our opposition.

"Torres has put the ball between [Evans'] legs and he is through, he gets kicked on his shin and he goes down. It is as simple as that, it is a free-kick for us - it may even be a sending off for Evans because [Torres] is through on goal. I was shocked; I thought it was going to be a free-kick for us and a foul for us, not against us."

Di Matteo also agreed with Ferguson that Hernandez's winner was offside. He added: "I watched it again and the replay shows that when Rafael shoots [Hernandez] is in an offside position. Everything went for United in that sense and that really makes us unhappy.

"[The referee] is going to watch it again and probably realise he made a mistake. But we can't change the result now and that is the bigger disappointment that we have."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.