• Premier League

No Premier League stars in UEFA team of the year

ESPN staff
January 16, 2013
Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi: Unsurprisingly named in UEFA.com's team of the year © Getty Images

For the first time, no players from the Premier League have been named in UEFA.com's team of year.

This is the 12th edition of the UEFA team of the year, with nearly half a million visitors to the body's official website casting 5.3 million votes on Europe's best XI.

Eight of the final line-up ply their trade in La Liga, with Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo spearheading the 4-4-2 formation.

FIFA's team of the year, announced this month, was composed entirely of players from La Liga.

UEFA.com's team of year

Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Thiago Silva (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)
Midfielders: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Mesut Ozil (Real Madrid)
Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.