- Premier League
Allardyce charged by FA over Man United comments
West Ham United manager Sam Allardyce has been charged with misconduct by the Football Association over comments he made to the media following Wednesday's FA Cup third round replay against Manchester United.
Allardyce reacted angrily to Phil Dowd's decision to award United a penalty for a handball by Jordan Spence after his side were denied one for a similar offence by Rafael at the other end.
Wayne Rooney, who scored the match's decisive goal, went on to miss from spot, but Allardyce was displeased with the call by Dowd.
"You see it time and time again at Old Trafford," he said after the 1-0 loss. "There's no doubt about the difference between Rafael's handball and Jordan Spence's. Spence plays for West Ham and the away team, while Rafael plays for the home side at Old Trafford.
"With Rafael, the ball hits his hand but no penalty is given. With Jordan Spence, the ball hits his hand and it's a penalty. The incidents are the same. If you give one you've got to give both, simple as that."
Allardyce then went on to suggest that referee Dowd had not even seen the incident that led to United's penalty. "The ref did not see Rafael's handball because of his position," he said. "But he was in a worse position to see Jordan Spence's than Rafael's."
In a statement, the FA said Allardyce has until Wednesday 23 January to respond to the charge.