• Premier League

Fergie and Bale pick up yearly honours

ESPN staff
May 17, 2013

Sir Alex Ferguson has picked up the Premier League's Manager of the Season award, with Tottenham Hotspur's Gareth Bale being named Player of the Season.

Ferguson is preparing for his 1,500th and final match as Manchester United manager at West Bromwich Albion on Sunday before he retires at the end of the season.

The 71-year-old led the Red Devils to their 13th Premier League title this season - and a record 20th overall - before announcing his retirement last week. United claimed the title with three matches to spare, and victory at The Hawthorns on Sunday would see the club take their points total for the campaign past the 90-point mark.

It is the 11th time that Ferguson has claimed the prize since winning the inaugural award in 1994, and he won it for three straight years between 2007 and 2009.

Bale is the first Tottenham player and the first Welshman to win the Player award. The winger adds the prize to the two PFA gongs - both the main award and the young players' prize - and the Football Writers' Association award he has already claimed this term.

The 23-year-old has scored 20 goals in the Premier League this season, a tally which includes several match-winners.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.