• Premier League

Fergie bows out with LMA award

ESPN staff
May 20, 2013
Sir Alex Ferguson added another LMA manager of the year award to his collection © Getty Images

Sir Alex Ferguson has been named the League Managers' Association (LMA) Manager of the Year for a record-breaking fourth time after guiding Manchester United to the 13th Premier League title of his reign.

Ferguson, 71, had scooped the prize on three previous occasions (1999, 2008 and 2001) and this year's award moved him ahead of his Old Trafford successor David Moyes, who has claimed it three times.

The outgoing United boss was presented with the award, voted for by his fellow managers, at the annual ceremony in London on Monday, 24 hours after the final game of his 26-year tenure with the Red Devils - a thrilling 5-5 draw with West Brom.

Ferguson guided United to their 20th league title in his last season as manager, as they overhauled rivals Manchester City to reclaim the crown.

The Scot joked he is glad the celebrations of his retirement are now over as he prepares for a backroom role at Old Trafford.

"It has been overwhelming. The club has been fantastic and congratulations to West Brom with the way they handled yesterday," Ferguson said. "In a way I am glad it is all over now - because it has been hard work!

"I think (West Brom manager) Steve Clarke should get an award because anyone who scores five against United deserves it."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.