• Euro 2016

England avoid trouble but Scotland draw Ireland

ESPN staff
February 23, 2014
England have been drawn into Group E for their Euro 2016 qualifying campaign © PA Photos

England have been handed a favourable draw in their qualifying campaign for Euro 2016 and will face San Marino, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovenia and Roy Hodgson's old haunt Switzerland in Group E following proceedings in Nice.

Scotland have arguably the toughest draw and will face Republic of Ireland, Germany, Poland, Gibraltar, Georgia in Group D. Wales play host to Belgium, as well as Bosnia, Andorra, Cyprus and Israel in Group B.

Week in Words: Wenger gets grumpy

Arsene Wenger dislikes diving © PA Photos
  • In the latest edition of our favourite quotes from the sporting week, Arsene Wenger and Manuel Pellegrini both have a moan, while Sergio Garcia transforms into Mr Nice Guy.
  • It can only be ESPN's Week in Words

Northern Ireland have been drawn in Group F alongside Greece, Faroe Islands, Finland, Romania and Hungary.

Gibraltar, who will contest their first qualifying campaign after being accepted as a UEFA member in 2013, were originally drawn into Group C, but had to be moved to Group D as they could not be drawn to face Spain due to political tensions.

Defending champions Spain will play Luxembourg, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Slovakia, Ukraine in Group C.

The top two teams from each group will qualify automatically alongside the best third-placed finisher. The remaining eight teams who finish third in their respective groups will go into the play-offs, scheduled to take place in November 2015.

Despite hosting the tournament, France will take part in qualifying - the first host nation to do so since UEFA's rule change. However, no points will rest on their qualifying fixtures and they will take part in the finals whatever the outcome of their group games.

Group A: Netherlands, Kazakhstan, Iceland, Latvia, Turkey, Czech Republic

Group B: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Andorra, Cyprus, Wales, Israel, Belgium

Group C: Spain, Luxembourg, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Slovakia, Ukraine

Group D: Germany, Gibraltar, Georgia, Scotland, Poland, Republic of Ireland

Group E: England, San Marino, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Group F: Greece, Faroe Islands, Northern Ireland, Finland, Romania, Hungary

Group G: Russia, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Montenegro, Austria, Sweden

Group H: Italy, Malta, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Norway, Croatia

Group I: France, Portugal, Albania, Armenia, Serbia, Denmark

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close