• Premier League

Liverpool trio in PFA Team of the Year

ESPN staff
April 27, 2014
ESPN FC: PFA Team of the Year announced

Chelsea and Liverpool dominate the PFA's Team of the Year with three players from each club included.

Liverpool trio Luis Suarez, Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge - who were all nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award with Suarez winning it - all make an XI in which Manchester United's under-performing players are conspicuous by their absence.

Suarez and Sturridge have struck up a prolific partnership - scoring 30 and 20 league goals respectively - to help fire Liverpool to the top of the Premier League, while Gerrard has enjoyed one of his finest campaigns in recent years, despite a costly slip in his side's 2-0 defeat to Chelsea which put a serious dent in their title bid.

Steven Gerrard, Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge have been paramount to Liverpool's title charge this season © Getty Images

Chelsea centre-back Gary Cahill makes the cut ahead of team-mate John Terry, while Young Player of the Year Eden Hazard also gets the nod.

Hazard's fellow Player of the Year nominee Yaya Toure also makes the XI as does his Manchester City team-mate Vincent Kompany, while there were no players representing Arsenal, United or Tottenham included in the team.

Southampton duo Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw - who were nominated for the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards respectively - also feature after impressive campaigns, earning their first England caps in the process.

The pair have also been linked with big-money moves to the likes of United and Chelsea this summer after helping their side to a top-10 finish.

Everton full-back Seamus Coleman is rewarded for his fine form this term as he rounds out the XI.

PFA Team of the Year: Petr Cech (Chelsea), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close