• Premier League

Suarez completes hat-trick of awards

ESPN staff
May 13, 2014
Luis Suarez had scored 31 goals this season for Liverpool © Getty Images

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has added to his collection of end-of-season awards by being named the Barclays Premier League Player of the Year.

The 31-goal striker had already won both PFA Players' Player of the Year and the Football Writers' Player of the Year after firing Liverpool to second in the league. He also collected the Golden Boot as the division's top scorer, equalling the record of Alan Shearer and Cristiano Ronaldo for goals in a 38-game season.

The 27-year-old's clean sweep of the English game's major domestic personal honours emulates Gareth Bale, who won all three awards while with Tottenham last season.

The Uruguay international's achievements have come despite the fact that he missed the first six games of Liverpool's season - including five in the Premier League - as he completed a 10-game domestic ban imposed for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic during a match at Anfield in April 2013.

Crystal Palace boss Tony Pulis, who was named the League Managers Association Premier League Manager of the Year on Monday night, picked up the same award from the league's sponsors after lifting the Eagles from the foot of the table to finish 11th. Liverpool coach Brendan Rodgers won the overall LMA award.

Chelsea's Petr Cech and Arsenal's Wojciech Szczesny shared the Golden Glove with 16 clean sheets each - the fewest in the 10 years it has been running. Cech wins for the third time, after picking up the inaugural award in the 2004-05 season and again in 2009-10, while it is the first time an Arsenal goalkeeper has won. Manchester City's Joe Hart had collected the trophy in the last three seasons.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close