• World Cup

Robben escapes punishment for diving

ESPN staff
June 30, 2014
Dutch party rumbles on

FIFA will not be taking action against Arjen Robben after he admitted diving during Holland's 2-1 win over Mexico.

Robben apologised for diving on one occasion in the game but insisted it had not been for the decisive penalty in stoppage time, which he described as "definitely a foul."

FIFA head of media Delia Fischer said the disciplinary committee would only look retrospectively at "serious infringements'' of fair play rules - diving only carries a yellow card sanction - and that Robben would face no action.

Fischer said: "Simulation is not something we want to see on the field of play but the referees are trained to identify these simulations and punish them by showing yellow cards.

"The disciplinary committee will look into serious infringements. We appeal to the spirit of fair play which is the over-arching message we have."

The Dutch FA (KNVB) also claimed Robben's comments had been misinterpreted in a statement on its official website, stressing the player had said the late penalty call was "perfectly correct" and he was referring to an earlier incident when admitting he had "fell too easily".

Robben further expanded on the issue at a news conference in Rio later on Monday, saying: "I apologised for one stupid action, but it didn't have an influence in the game.Sometimes, you know, I like to be honest. We had two clear penalties, one given. That was it. Now we should move on."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close