• League Cup

Costa charged over stamp on Liverpool's Emre Can

ESPN staff
January 28, 2015
What's Diego Costa's next move?

Diego Costa has been charged with violent conduct over one of two apparent stamps during Chelsea's win against Liverpool in the League Cup.

Costa was accused by Liverpool of stamping on Emre Can at Stamford Bridge and then of a further stamp on Martin Skrtel.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho insisted that both stamps were "absolutely accidental" and also lashed out at Sky Sports pundit Jamie Redknapp over criticism of the striker, while Liveprool boss Brendan Rodgers described Costa's actions as "poor".

The FA was aware of the controversy following the 1-0 semi-final second-leg win at Stamford Bridge - which saw Chelsea through to the final 2-1 on aggregate - and was waiting for referee Michael Oliver's report.

However, the FA has now revealed in a statement: "Diego Costa has been charged by The FA for violent conduct following an on-field incident which was not seen by the match officials but caught on video.

"The charge is in relation to an incident involving the Chelsea forward and Liverpool's Emre Can which occurred in the 12th minute of the League Cup semi-final second leg at Stamford Bridge last night.

"The player has until 6pm on Thursday to respond to the charge.

"Following a review of an incident during the game involving Costa and Liverpool's Martin Skrtel, The FA will not be taking any further action."

Costa faces the prospect of a three-match ban, which would rule him out of Saturday's Premier League showdown with title rivals Manchester City as well as matches against Everton and Aston Villa. There is no right of appeal.

Diego Costa was also accused of later stamping on Martin Skrtel © Getty Images
Enlarge
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close