2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens
World Cup Sevens battle lines drawn
ESPN Staff
February 28, 2013
Wales' men and Australia's women celebrate success at the Rugby World Cup Sevens, The Sevens Stadium, Dubai, UAE, March 7, 2009
Wales lifted the men's trophy in 2009 while Australia won the women's World Cup © Getty Images

Reigning champions Wales have been drawn in the same pool as double-winners Fiji for the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens.

Ben Ryan's England have been placed in the same group as 2009 losing finalists Argentina, Portugal and Zimbabwe while Wales will also contend with Tonga and Uruguay. The tournament, which will take place in Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium, will be played between June 28-30.

Fiji are the tournament's most successful side with two victories coming in 1997 and 2005 and they will be joined by 2009 champions Wales, Tonga and Uruguay in their group. New Zealand, the victors in 2001, have been paired with the USA, Canada and Georgia.

Elsewhere Scotland have been grouped with South Africa, hosts Russia and Japan in Pool C while Australia will play France, Spain and Tunisia. Samoa will play Mike Friday's Kenya, Zimbabwe and the Philippines.

The draw for the women's tournament also took place on Thursday and England will have to play hosts Russia, France and Japan if they are to progress. The women are currently playing in the 2013 Six Nations but coach Gary Street opted to rest a host of their well known players to keep them fresh for the World Cup in June.

Reigning champions Australia will have to get past China, South Africa and Ireland if they are to progress to the knockout stages. New Zealand, the world's top ranked side at the moment, have been paired alongside Canada, Netherlands and Tunisia.

Men's pools:

Pool A: Australia, France, Spain, Tunisia

Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, Russia, Japan

Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Philippines

Pool D: New Zealand, USA, Canada, Georgia

Pool E: Fiji, Wales, Tonga, Uruguay

Pool F: England, Argentina, Portugal, Hong Kong

Women's Pools:

Pool A: Canada, New Zealand, Netherlands, Tunisia

Pool B: Australia, South Africa, China, Ireland

Pool C: USA, Spain, Brazil, Fiji

Pool D: England, Russia, France, Japan

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Australian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open