Six Nations
Wales quartet lead chase for Player of Championship
ESPN Staff
March 18, 2013
Wales' Leigh Halfpenny enjoys the moment, France v Wales, Six Nations, Stade de France, Paris, France, February 9, 2013
Wales' Leigh Halfpenny is one of 15 players shortlisted for the Six Nations Player of the Championship honour © PA Photos

Wales' Leigh Halfpenny, Mike Phillips, Dan Biggar and Adam Jones could all secure a memorable Six Nations win double having been shortlisted for the Player of the Championship award.

All four played a pivotal role in Wales' latest title triumph - that was sealed with a stunning 30-3 victory over England on Saturday - but face stiff competition from the 11 other players vying for the honour that will be decided by an online vote.

Six Nations runners-up England are represented by captain Chris Robshaw and fly-half Owen Farrell but they are outnumbered by Italy who provide three of the contenders in No.8 Sergio Parrise, fullback and 2011 Player of the Championship Andrea Masi and flanker Alessandro Zanni.

Wooden spoon winners France also provide three players in the form of No.9 Louis Picamoles, centre Mathieu Bastareaud and prop Nicolas Mas while Ireland centre Brian O'Driscoll and scrum-half Conor Murray also get the nod. Completing the list is the only Scotland representative - fullback Stuart Hogg.

Organisers claim the shortlist includes the best players according to performance and fan opinion with tournament sponsors RBS and their technology partner Accenture having worked together to create an algorithm which uses match stats and social media to rate players. Click here to vote for your Player of the Championship.

RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship shortlist:
Owen Farrell (England)
Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)
Chris Robshaw (England)
Sergio Parisse (Italy)
Nicolas Mas (France)
Louis Picamoles (France)
Andrea Masi (Italy)
Dan Biggar (Wales)
Stuart Hogg (Scotland)
Alessandro Zanni (Italy)
Conor Murray (Ireland)
Mathieu Bastareaud (France)
Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland)
Adam Jones (Wales)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.