Chabal in hot water over knockout punch
December 16, 2013
Sebastien Chabal may have said last month that he is retiring at the end of the season because his body was suffering but he shows no sign of wanting to go quietly.
He faces a long ban after a right hook knocked out Agen's Marc Giraud in an off-the-ball incident during the Saturday night match. Giraud appeared to hold on to Chabal's shirt as the ball broke from a ruck and received a hard punch for his pains. He was carried off on a stretcher.
The incident was missed by the referee but spotted by a touch judge. Chabal protested his innocence and seemed nonplussed to be sent off; replays suggested he was extremely fortunate to escape with a yellow card but he is unlikely to have heard the last of it.
Alain Tingaud, Agen's president, said he would be referring the incident to the league's disciplinary committee. "I am furious with the referee who did not show a red card. He admitted he made a mistake It was a red."
Giraud later took to his Twitter account to reassure followers he was fine and "would sleep well".
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
Communication error please reload the page.