French Rugby
Parra named Top 14 Player of the Year
ESPNscrum Staff
October 6, 2010
Clermont's Morgan Parra spots a gap, Clermont Auvergne v Agen, Top 14, Stade Aime Giral, Clermont-Ferrand, France, October 2, 2010
Clermont's Morgan Parra has been named the Top 14's Player of the Year for last season © Getty Images
Related Links

Clermont Auvergne scrum-half Morgan Parra has been named the Top 14 Player of the Year for last season with Toulon fly-half Jonny Wilkinson also earning selection in French top flight's 'Dream Team'.

The 21-year-old Parra capped a stand-out season for club and country by claiming the individual honour at the Ligue Nationale de Rugby's 'La Nuit du Rugby' on Monday. He joined Les Jaunards last year and went on to be a key player in his side's first ever championship success - that culminated with victory over Perpignan in May - and was also at the heart of France's Six Nations Grand Slam triumph. The Clermont backroom staff of Jean-Marc Lhermet, Vern Cotter and Joe Schmidt - the latter now with Leinster - were named the coaches of the year.

Parra was also included in the team of the year alongside England stalwart Wilkinson who was previously named as the Top 14's best fly-half by Midi Olympique. The in-form Wilkinson was one of five foreigners to make the grade alongside Argentinean trio Thomas Domingo (Clermont), Patricio Albacete (Toulouse) and Juan Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon), and Kiwi imports Chris Masoe (Castres) and Sonny Bill Williams (formerly of Toulon).

Heineken Cup champions Toulouse provided the bulk of the side claiming six of the 15 places with William Servat, Thierry Dusautoir, Yannick Jauzion, Vincent Clerc and Clément Poitrenaud joining Albacete. The line-up was completed by Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Lionel Nallet (Racing-Métro 92) and Marc Andreu (Castres).

Top 14 'Dream Team':

Clément Poitrenaud, Vincent Clerc, Sonny Bill Williams, Yannick Jauzion, Marc Andreu, Jonny Wilkinson, Morgan Parra, Thomas Domingo, William Servat, Nicolas Mas, Lionel Nallet, Patricio Albacete, Thierry Dusautoir, Chris Masoe, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.