• PGA Tour

McIlroy takes home PGA Tour award

ESPN staff
December 4, 2012
Rory McIlroy has added another trophy to his collection © PA Photos

US PGA champion Rory McIlroy has been named the PGA Tour player of the year for 2012.

McIlroy, who won on three other occasions in the United States during the season, beat out Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson and Tiger Woods for the award.

At just 23, the Northern Irishman becomes the youngest player to win the title - which is voted for by the players - since Woods in 1998.

"It's an honour, and I'm delighted to win the PGA Tour's player of the year," McIlroy said following the announcement. "It's always nice to get recognition from your peers, the guys that you're trying to beat week-in, week-out, and obviously there's been a lot of guys on the PGA Tour that have had great years this year.

"Obviously Tiger winning three times, Bubba winning the Masters and playing well, Jason Dufner breaking through for a couple of wins, Brandt Snedeker winning the FedEx Cup. So to beat those guys, it's a nice feeling.

"It's very rewarding, and I guess it's just a great way to end what has been a great year and my best season so far."

Alongside his eight-shot major victory at Kiawah Island, McIlroy also claimed the Honda Classic, Deutsche Bank Championship and BMW Championship - helping him to lead players in prize money earned over the course of the season ($8,047,952), although he was pipped to the lucrative FedEx Cup by Snedeker.

"We are judged on wins ultimately, and this year has been a great year with four wins on the PGA Tour and winning in Dubai a couple weeks ago," McIlroy said. "But next thing, I won my first major in '11, I backed it up this season with another one, and I'd love to go into '13 with that same goal of obviously trying to win another major."

Elsewhere, 22-year-old John Huh claimed rookie of the year honours, following a debut campaign that saw him win the Mayakoba Golf Classic at the start of the year and go on to qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship.

Huh edged out Charlie Beljan, Jonas Blixt, Bud Cauley and Ted Potter Jr to take the title.

"On behalf of the PGA Tour, my congratulations to Rory and John for their outstanding accomplishments this season," Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said. "These awards are significant to these players as they are bestowed upon them by their peers, one of highest compliments a player can receive."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.