- The Masters
Woods denies wrongdoing but accepts penalty
Tiger Woods has insisted he did not think he had committed an infringement on the 15th on Friday, but accepts the Masters rules committee's decision to punish him with a two-shot penalty.
Woods was summoned to Augusta National on Saturday morning to answer questions about his drop on the 15th, after his third shot had clattered off the flagstick and found water. The committee had initially deemed the drop legal but, after incriminating post-round comments from Woods himself, the matter was subsequently re-opened.
Disqualification had been a possibility for Woods but he was instead handed a two-shot penalty, one that leaves him five shots off the leaders with 36 holes to play.
The 14-time major champion said he understood and accepted the decision and subsequent penalty.
"At hole No. 15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules," Woods said on Twitter. "I didn't know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard.
"Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee on Saturday morning and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview.
"After discussing the situation with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the committee's decision."
Sir Nick Faldo had called on Woods to withdraw from the event even after the penalty, to preserve his legacy amid the uncertainty of the incident. However, the American has received support from other players at Augusta.