• World rankings

Scott stands up for anchored putters

ESPN staff
April 15, 2013
The first Aussie in green

Masters champion Adam Scott defended his use of an anchored putter after his victory at Augusta National as the custodians of the game approach a final decision on whether to ban them.

Scott became the first Australian to win The Masters, sinking a 12-foot birdie putt to beat former champion Angel Cabrera at the second play-off hole.

The 32-year-old, a vocal opponent of the ban, also became the first player to win the year's opening major with an anchored putting stroke, completing a 'grand slam' for the controversial clubs in the process.

Scott's victory, along with Keegan Bradley's 2011 US PGA Championship, Ernie Els' 2012 Open win and Webb Simpson's 2012 US Open title, means four of the past six majors have been won by players using a putter whose handle is pressed against the belly or chest.

The United States Golf Association and Royal & Ancient have proposed a ban on anchoring clubs to the body, which, if accepted and finalised, will be implemented in 2016.

But the PGA Tour has opposed a ban of the technique, citing a lack of statistical evidence that anchoring provides an unfair advantage.

Asked what impact his victory could have on the decision, Scott said: "I don't know what it's going to do. We are all waiting to hear what's going to happen. I don't know that this is going to impact any decisions at all.

"You know my feeling on it all; that it was inevitable that big tournaments would be won with this equipment because these are the best players in the world and they practice thousands of hours.

"They are going to get good with whatever they are using. It's inevitable."

Scott switched to the chest-high 'broomstick' anchored putter, the first of its kind to win a major, shortly before the 2011 Masters, where he was runner-up. He has now been inside the top-15 in seven of the past nine majors.

World rankings: 1. Tiger Woods (USA), 2. Rory McIlroy (NIR), 3. Adam Scott (AUS), 4. Justin Rose (ENG), 5. Brandt Snedeker (USA) 6. Luke Donald (ENG), 7. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), 8. Steve Stricker (USA), 9. Matt Kuchar (USA), 10. Phil Mickelson (USA), 11. Lee Westwood (ENG), 12. Keegan Bradley (USA), 13. Sergio Garcia (ESP), 14. Bubba Watson (USA), 15. Ian Poulter (ENG), 16. Charl Schwartzel (RSA), 17. Dustin Johnson (USA), 18. Graeme McDowell (NIR), 19. Jason Dufner (USA), 20. Webb Simpson (USA)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.