• US Open

Rose and Mickelson together again

Bob Harig | ESPN.com
June 7, 2014
Phil Mickelson and Justin Rose have been inseparable for the past two years © AP

The United States Golf Association often shows a sense of humor when it comes to the tee-time groupings for the US Open, but the organisation went by the book when it put Phil Mickelson with defending champion Justin Rose.

The six-time runner-up will begin his attempt at a career Grand Slam on Thursday morning at Pinehurst, but alongside - again - Rose, as well as US Amateur champ Matthew Fitzpatrick. The group will begin play off the 10th tee at 7.51am ET (12.51pm BST), with a 1.36pm (6.36pm) tee time on Friday.

The two Open champions along with the reigning US Amateur champion are traditionally grouped together.

Pining for Tiger

Tiger Woods has been out of action since March © Getty Images
  • The US Open won't be the same without Tiger Woods and his absence is making people start to think about a future without him, writes ESPN.com senior golf writer Farrell Evans.
  • Click here to continue reading

But for Mickelson, Rose has become a common playing companion and, of late, the America hasn't played well in that scenario. He hasn't broken par in the last two majors in which the two were paired, shooting 76-73 at this year's Masters and 71-71 at last year's PGA Championship for a combined seven strokes over par.

Rose denied Mickelson at Merion last year, a defeat Mickelson called among the worst his close calls at the only major championship he has not won.

Rose, who defeated Mickelson in a crucial Sunday singles match at the 2012 Ryder Cup, was then grouped with Mickelson for the first two rounds of several PGA Tour events following his victory, including last month at the Wells Fargo Championship.

The last three Masters champions - Bubba Watson, Adam Scott and Charl Schwartzel - are in a group starting at 1.25pm (6.25pm) on Thursday.

Among some of the other interesting groups at Pinehurst include former US Open champions Webb Simpson, Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell at 7.40am (12.50pm); Young guns Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama and Rickie Fowler at 8.13am (1.13pm); Former Open Championship winners Ernie Els, Darren Clarke and Louis Oosthuizen at 1.36pm (6.36pm); and the last three men to win the PGA Championship, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley and Martin Kaymer, at 1.47pm (6.47pm).

Bob Harig is a senior golf writer for ESPN.com

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd