Heineken Cup
Leinster top Heineken Cup seedings
ESPNscrum Staff
June 2, 2011

Reigning Heineken Cup champions Leinster have been confirmed as top seeds for next season's tournament.

The Irish side, who defeated Northampton 33-22 in a rollercoaster final at the Millennium Stadium in May, are joined in tier one by Toulouse, Munster, Cardiff Blues, Biarritz and Leiceseter.

The Saints, meanwhile, are among the second tier teams, alongside Clermont Auvergne, the Ospreys and fellow Premiership sides London Irish, Bath and Harlequins, the winners of this year's Amlin Challenge Cup.

Reigning Premiership champions Saracens are poised to create a tough group after being confirmed in tier three, while tournament newcomers Connacht have been confirmed in the bottom tier, where they are joined by megabucks French outfit Racing Metro and Top 14 finalists Montpellier.

Seedings for the 2011-12 Heineken Cup:

Tier 1 - Leinster, Toulouse, Munster, Cardiff Blues, Biarritz Olympique, Leicester Tigers

Tier 2 - Northampton Saints, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Ospreys, Bath, Harlequins, London Irish

Tier 3 - Ulster, Saracens, Gloucester, Glasgow Warriors, Scarlets, Edinburgh

Tier 4 - Connacht, Benetton Treviso, Castres Olympique, Montpellier, Racing Metro 92, Aironi

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.