Training squad named for Scotland Club side
January 22, 2007

A 41-strong training squad has been announced today ahead of the first appearance on home soil of the Scotland Club international side.

Following the inaugural match in Dublin last year, the Scots will face their Irish counterparts in the Edinburgh area on the evening of Friday 9 March, and will be eager to record a first victory.

Coached by Ian Rankin (Dundee HSFP) and George Breckenridge (Heriot's) the squad listed for training at Murrayfield on Sundays 18 and 25 February includes nine players involved last year - Rory Couper, Jamie Murray, Alasdhair McFarlane, Murray Strang, Moray Low, Bruce McNeil, Richie Maxton, Tam McVie and Angus Martyn.

Rankin said: "The selection process is not yet complete and there remains opportunities for players outwith this squad to force their way into contention."

Selection criteria includes that players must be eligible to play for Scotland and currently playing club rugby in Scotland.

Former full-time professionals who played for more than three years or who were contracted within the last 12 months are ineligible, as are former internationalists at either full or A level.

Junior and senior academy players are eligible.

Scotland Club international training squad:

Backs - Matt Coupar (Watsonians), Brian Archibald (Stirling County), James Thompson (Heriot's), Rory Couper (Boroughmuir), Stevie Gordon (Glasgow Hawks), Graham Thomson (Dundee HSFP), John Houston (Heriot's), Andy McMahon (Currie), Jamie Murray (Melrose), Cameron Goodall (Heriot's), Max Evans (Glasgow Hawks), Marc Teague (Heriot's), Charlie Keenan (Boroughmuir), Andrew Skeen (Watsonians), Murray Strang (Glasgow Hawks), Alasdhair McFarlane (Ayr), Kenny Sinclair (Glasgow Hawks), Richard Snedden (Currie)

Forwards - Richard Higgins (Melrose), Innes Brown (Heriot's), Bruce McNeil (Hawick), Scott Burnett (Currie), Neil Meikle (Heriot's), Steve Lawrie (Watsonians), Moray Low (Aberdeen GSFP), Andrew Reekie (Currie), Freddie Lait (Boroughmuir), Richie Maxton (Hamilton), Scott Sutherland (Ayr), Andy Adam (Currie), Damien Kelly (Ayr), Jeff Nicholson (Watsonians), Grant Strang (Aberdeen GSFP), Roddy Deans (Heriot's), Paul Burke (Ayr), Tam McVie (Heriot's), Stuart Johnston (Melrose), Ross Weston (Currie), Will Rowley (Watsonians), Angus Martyn (Boroughmuir), George Oommen (Dundee HSFP).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.