Irish Rugby
Six new faces in Ireland training squad
September 8, 2009
Declan Kidney the head Coach of Ireland during the Guinness series between Ireland and New Zealand at Croke Park in Dublin Ireland on November 15, 2008.
Declan Kidney has named six new caps in his Ireland training squad © Getty Images

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has named a 34-man squad for his final training camp of the summer, set to take place in Dublin on September 14-15.

The squad features six uncapped players, Leinster's Cian Healy, Devin Toner, Jonathan Sexton and Fergus McFadden and Connacht's Brett Wilkinson and Sean Cronin.

Kidney also includes Leinster scrum-half Eoin Reddan and hooker Bernard Jackman for the first time this season, the duo recalled as preparations continue for November Tests against Australia, Fiji and South Africa.

Ireland 'A', coached by Kidney, picked up the Churchill Cup title during the summer to add to the full Test side's famous Six Nations Grand Slam.

"The two camps that we have had have been hugely beneficial in terms of continuing the work from last season and preparing for the year ahead in what will certainly be a big challenge for the squad," said Kidney. "We set out to maintain the building process of a panel based on the summer tours as well as that already knew about the players.

"The next time we meet as a squad will be November, so hopefully the players can produce good form so that the foundations laid now will benefit us at that point."

Ireland Squad:

Tony Buckley (Munster), Tom Court (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Connacht), Leo Cullen (Leinster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Stephen Ferris (Ulster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Jerry Flannery (Munster), John Hayes (Munster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Marcus Horan (Munster), Shane Horgan (Leinster), Bernard Jackman (Leinster), Shane Jennings (Leinster), Robert Kearney (Leinster), Denis Leamy (Munster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Mick O'Driscoll (Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster), Ronan O'Gara (Munster), Tomas O'Leary (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Peter Stringer (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), David Wallace (Munster), Paddy Wallace (Ulster), Brett Wilkinson (Connacht)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.