Scotland v Ireland, Six Nations, Murrayfield, February 27
Jackson and Paterson called in
ESPNscrum Staff
February 23, 2011
Ruaridh Jackson fires the ball at the posts, Scotland v Samoa, Pittodrie, Aberdeen, Scotland, November 27, 2010
Ruaridh Jackson starts for Scotland © Getty Images

Glasgow fly-half Ruaridh Jackson has ousted Dan Parks from the Scotland side for Sunday's Six Nations clash with Ireland at Murrayfield.

The youngster will make his first Test start in a re-vamped side, which also sees Chris Paterson recalled at fullback to win his 102nd cap.

The Edinburgh veteran replaces the injured Hugo Southwell while Sean Lamont has been drafted into midfield following a knock to Joe Ansbro. The Scarlets man, Scotland's stand-out in defeat to Wales two weeks ago, starts at inside-centre with Nick De Luca moving to the No.13 jersey.

Mike Blair returns to partner the inexperienced Jackson at halfback while there are further changes in the pack. Glasgow lock Richie Gray is fit after illness to join skipper Al Kellock in the second-row.

Gray's comeback means a drop to the bench for Leinster's Nathan Hines as the 'Killer Bs' back-row of Kelly Brown, John Barclay and Johnnie Beattie has been restored.

Moray Low replaces Euan Murray at tight-head due to the Newcastle prop's religious beliefs preventing him from playing on a Sunday.

"We know that Ireland will bring their own distinct physicality and guile to Murrayfield on Sunday and it is up to our squad to front up to that challenge," head coach Andy Robinson said.

"We must play with belief and eliminate the mistakes which have bedevilled us in our opening two games and we must produce a performance that restores the pride in all Scotland supporters."

Scotland C Paterson (Edinburgh); N Walker (Ospreys), N De Luca (Edinburgh), S Lamont (Scarlets), M Evans (Glasgow); R Jackson (Glasgow), M Blair (Edinburgh); A Jacobsen (Edinburgh), R Ford (Edinburgh), M Low (Glasgow), R Gray (Glasgow), A Kellock (Glasgow), K Brown (Saracens), J Barclay (Glasgow), J Beattie (Glasgow)

Replacements: S Lawson (Gloucester), G Cross (Edinburgh), N Hines (Leinster), R Vernon (Glasgow), R Lawson (Gloucester), D Parks (Cardiff Blues, S Danielli (Ulster)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.