Irish Rugby
O'Brien scoops Irish honour
ESPNscrum Staff
August 15, 2011
Ireland 'A' flanker Sean O'Brien looks for the ball, England Saxons v Ireland 'A', Recreation Ground, Bath, England, January 31, 2010
O'Brien has been rewarded for a fine season for club and country © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sean O'Brien
Tournaments/Tours: RaboDirect PRO12
Teams: Ireland | Leinster

Ireland and Leinster flanker Sean O'Brien has been named the Irish Rugby Writers' Player of the Year.

The 24-year-old played a key role in Leinster's Heineken Cup winning campaign last season, starting all of his side's matches in the competition, scoring four tries and winning three man-of-the-match awards. O'Brien, who has won 10 caps for his country, also started all of Ireland's Six Nations games, helping Declan Kidney's side to a third place finish in the table.

Leinster were also honoured at the ceremony in Dublin, claiming the Team of the Year award in recognition of their Heineken Cup success that was sealed with a memorable victory over Northampton Saints at the Millennium Stadium in May.

Recently retired referee Alan Lewis, who took charge of 45 major international Test matches including a Rugby World Cup quarter-final during his career, collected the Tom Rooney award for services to rugby. while Dublin's Old Belvedere RFC won the Club of the Year award. Lynne Cantwell, Ireland's most capped player, was named Women's Player of the Year and Mick Lane and Ollie Campbell were inducted into the Guinness Hall of Fame.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Monaco GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open