Irish Rugby
Injury forces Denis Leamy to retire
ESPN Staff
May 22, 2012
Munster's Denis Leamy watches on, Northampton Saints v Munster, Heineken Cup, Franklin's Gardens, Northampton, England, October 10, 2009
Denis Leamy has announced his retirement from the game © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Denis Leamy
Tournaments/Tours: RaboDirect PRO12
Teams: Ireland | Munster

Munster have announced their fourth retirement of the season with Denis Leamy forced to call time on his career.

Leamy follows in the footsteps of David Wallace, Mick O'Driscoll and Jerry Flannery in hanging up his boots after he was unable to recover from a hip injury. Leamy played 57 times for Ireland and was a member of their 2009 Grand Slam-winning side.

He will now embark on the next stage of his career and said of the decision to retire: "I find it hard to put into words how much it has meant to me to play for Munster and Ireland. It was a dream come true and I was very lucky to play with some of the greatest players ever to wear the jerseys and feel blessed that I was part of winning teams.

"I've had a great career, wish it had gone on a little longer but I'd like to thank all the coaches, players, medical staff and management who have helped me over the past decade. It's been a great honour to be involved with such an outstanding group of people.

"I'd also like to thank the fans most sincerely. I fully appreciate the sacrifices they've made, spending their hard earned cash to cheer us on, be it Munster or Ireland, at home games and all over Europe. Their support has been truly fantastic and a memory I'll carry forever."

Munster's CEO Garrett Fitzgerald said: "We are obviously very disappointed that Denis has been forced to call it a day particularly when he is in the prime of his career. An outstanding back-row player throughout his career, I believe his contribution to Munster and Irish Rugby has been inestimable.

"His fierce determination on the field was mirrored by his work ethic off it and he leaves Munster rugby with our gratitude and best wishes for the future."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.