Guinness PRO12
Fifteen Ireland internationals re-sign with Leinster
ESPN Staff
April 9, 2015
Rob Kearney
Rob Kearney© Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Fifteen Irish internationals have penned new deals with Leinster with the province confirming four new signings ahead of next season.

Ireland and British & Irish Lions fly-half Jonathan Sexton has already confirmed he will be re-joining Leinster ahead of next season and he will be joined at the province by lock Mick Kearney and props Royce Burke-Flynn and Ian Hirst.

Alongside their new signings, a host of current Leinster players have extended their contracts at the province. "A huge focus for Guy Easterby, Mick Dawson and I behind the scenes is the retention of key players within the environment" Leinster coach Matt O'Connor said. "20 Leinster players were in the extended Irish camp recently during the Six Nations and I think it reflects very well on the set up that we have here in Leinster that so many international class players have chosen to put pen to paper with us and that they see their immediate future in a blue jersey."

Central to their recruitment has been the impending Rugby World Cup when they will be without a host of front-line players.

"I think it's great to be able to add new blood to any set up but to be able to add four Leinster lads to the set up and all players that we know will fit in is great," Leinster CEO Mick Dawson said. "We have already spoken about Johnny's return. We are bringing in one of the best players in world rugby. A winning British & Irish Lion with 51 Irish caps and nearly 500 points to his name. He was a key driver here and it's great to be getting a world class player in.

"Matt and the rest of the coaches identified though that we will be stretched during those first few months of next season and probably beyond as you never know what toll a World Cup campaign can have. Mick, Ian and Royce plus the retention of other players is a huge plus. It is also a testament to the quality of the work going on in the Academy that Josh van Der Flier, Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Dan Leavy and Cathal Marsh will all be stepping up into senior contracts next season."

Leinster renewals: Isaac Boss, Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tom Denton, Darragh Fanning, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Zane Kirchner, Dan Leavy, Cathal Marsh, Fergus McFadden, Luke McGrath, Mick McGrath, Kevin McLaughlin, Martin Moore, Jordi Murphy, Colm O'Shea, Eoin Reddan, Noel Reid, Mike Ross, Dominic Ryan, Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner, James Tracy, Josh Van Der Flier

© ESPN Staff

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.