Regan to lead Barbarians against Boks
November 26, 2007

England's Mark Regan will lead the Barbarians in the Gartmore Challenge match against South Africa at Twickenham on Saturday.

The Bristol hooker will be making his third appearance for the Club at the stadium, having previously played twice against England in 2005 and 2006.

Also in the 22-man squad announced today are former Barbarians Matt Giteau, Justin Marshall, Brent Cockbain, Troy Flavell, Jerry Collins and Martyn Williams. In all, seven nationalities are represented, including four players from both England and Wales.

The match provides the anticipated capacity crowd with the opportunity to give World Cup hero Jason Robinson an appropriate send-off in his final first-class appearance.

The team will be coached by Ireland's national coach, Eddie O'Sullivan and hold training sessions at two London clubs, Blackheath and Richmond, both closely linked to the Barbarian Football Club since its formation in 1890.

He said, "I was honoured to be invited to prepare the team for such an historic and high-profile fixture. The assembled squad has an exciting mix of home grown and overseas talent and we hope to give the world champions a real game in the best traditions of Barbarian rugby on Saturday."

The match will be the Club's twenty-fourth fixture against a major touring team from the southern hemisphere and its sixth against South Africa. The Barbarians defeated the Springboks at Cardiff Arms Park in 1961 and at Lansdowne Road, Dublin in 1994.

At Twickenham on Saturday the Barbarian Rugby Charitable Trust, which was set up in 2004 to help the development of the game in every part of the world and give assistance to injured players, will donate a cheque for ZAR80,000 to the South African Rugby Union with the specific aim of developing rugby union in the Eastern Cape.

The Rugby Football Union has confirmed that only 3,000 tickets are still available and that fans will not be able to buy these on matchday.

Barbarian Squad:

Jason Robinson (England & British Isles)
Joe Rokocoko (Blues & New Zealand)
Isoa Neivua (Warriors & Fiji)
Ben Cohen (England & British Isles)
Conrad Smith (Hurricanes & New Zealand)
Tom Shanklin (Cardiff Blues, Wales & British Isles)
Ma'a Nonu (Hurricanes & New Zealand)
Matt Giteau (Western Force & Australia)
Peter Grant (Stormers)
Justin Marshall (Ospreys & New Zealand)

Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks, England & British Isles)
Federico Pucciarello (Munster & Italy)
Salesi Ma'afu (Brumbies)
Mark Regan (Bristol Rugby, England & British Isles)
Schalk Brits (Stormers)
Brent Cockbain (Wales & British Isles)
Justin Harrison (Ulster Rugby & Australia)
Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons & Wales)
Troy Flavell (Blues & New Zealand)
Jerry Collins (Hurricanes & New Zealand)
Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues, Wales & British Isles)
Rocky Elsom (Waratahs & Australia)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.