• London Olympics 2012

Kenny given nod over Hoy for individual sprint

ESPN staff
July 19, 2012
Jason Kenny has won his selection duel with Sir Chris Hoy © Getty Images

Sir Chris Hoy has been overlooked in favour of Jason Kenny for the individual sprint at the London 2012 track cycling.

British Cycling confirmed on Thursday that Hoy will not defend the title he won at the Beijing Games, with the Scot instead competing in the men's keirin and Team GB team-mate Kenny claiming the sole spot in the sprint.

British cycling performance director, Dave Brailsford, left the decision as long as possible but finally opted for Kenny, who finished in second place ahead of Hoy at the World Championships in Melbourne earlier this year.

Brailsford said: "We have now finalised our selection for the track events and in particular we have made the decision over who will ride the sprint.

"Both Chris and Jason are on great form and that made it a difficult choice, but we have decided to select Jason to contest the sprint and Chris will concentrate on the keirin. We believe this gives us the strongest team possible going into the Games."

Four-time Olympic champion Hoy said: "Whilst I'm obviously disappointed not to be defending all three of my 2008 Olympic titles in London, Jason thoroughly deserves this opportunity and has a great chance of success in the sprint.

"I am now focused entirely on the keirin and team sprint and my goals for those two events haven't changed."

Team GB cycling squad

Men's team sprint
Philip Hindes
Sir Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny
(Reserve - Ross Edgar)

Women's team sprint
Victoria Pendleton
Jess Varnish
(Reserve - Becky James)

Men's team pursuit
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Pete Kennaugh
Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas

Women's team pursuit
Wendy Houvenaghel
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Men's sprint
Jason Kenny

Women's sprint
Victoria Pendleton

Men's keirin
Sir Chris Hoy

Women's keirin
Victoria Pendleton

Men's omnium
Ed Clancy

Women's omnium
Laura Trott

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.