• Super League

Super League to be cut to 12 teams from 2015

ESPN staff
July 10, 2013
The Super League will feature 12 teams from 2015 © Getty Images

The Super League will change from a 14-team competition to a 12-team one from 2015.

At the competing clubs' AGM in Bradford, a proposal to reduce to 10 teams was dismissed, and now two proposals remain up for debate.

One is for two divisions of 12 with a straightforward system of promotion and relegation between the two.

The alternative is the option being pushed by the Rugby Football League which involves both Super League and a 12-team Championship being split after 23 rounds into three qualifying play-off groups of eight clubs.

Super League changed from 12 clubs to 14 in 2009 with 14 clubs granted three-year licences (2009 to 2011 and 2012-14), during which time they could not be relegated.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd