New Zealand v South Africa, Tri-Nations, Wellington, July 17
Springboks eye maiden Westpac win
July 13, 2010
Scott Robertson crashes over to score for the All Blacks, New Zealand v South Africa, Tri Nations, Westpac Stadium, July 20 2002.
Scott Robertson crashes over to score against South Africa at Westpac Stadium in 2002 © Getty Images

Peter De Villiers' Springboks will look to bounce back from their latest Eden Park reverse at another ground at which they have struggled in the past.

They take on New Zealand at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Saturday looking not only to get their Tri-Nations bid on track but also for a first win at the ground. Last weekend's 32-12 All Blacks win took their all-time stats to 43 wins, with 33 victories for the Boks and three Tests having ended in draws.

The teams first met at Westpac in 2002, when the home side ran out comfortable 42-20 winners thanks to tries from hooker Mark Hammett, No.8 Scott Robertson, wing Doug Howlett, scrum-half Justin Marshall and skipper Reuben Thorne.

The result was similarly one-sided in 2006, when seven penalties from the boot of Dan Carter powered a 35-17 All Black win. Piri Weepu and Richie McCaw scored tries for the hosts, with Fourie du Preez and Breyton Paulse responding.

The last Wellington meeting between the sides came in the opening game of the 2008 Tri-Nations when the Springboks, fresh from winning the Rugby World Cup, lost out 19-8 to a Jerome Kaino try and 15 more points from the boot of Carter, who needs 11 points this weekend to overtake Andrew Mehrtens as the All Blacks' highest scorer against the Boks.

The Springboks fared better at Wellington's Athletic Park, winning three and drawing one of the seven Tests between the sides at the ground between 1921 and 1998.

All-time record: New Zealand won 43, South Africa won 33, drawn 3

Biggest winning margin: SA: 17, 17-0 at Durban, 1928; NZ: 36, 52-16 at Pretoria, 2003

Highest score: SA: 46 (46-40) at Johannesburg, 2000; NZ: 55 (55-35) at Auckland, 1997

Most tries: SA: 6 (46-40) at Johannesburg, 2000; NZ: 7 (55-35) at Auckland, 1997

Longest winning sequence: SA: 6 (1937-1949); NZ: 7 (2001-2004)

Most points (individual): SA: Percy Montgomery 106; NZ: Andrew Mehrtens 209

Most tries (individual): SA: 6 Joost van der Westhuizen; NZ: 10 Christian Cullen

Most points in a Test: SA: 31 Morne Steyn at Durban, 2009; NZ: 25 Carlos Spencer at Auckland, 1997

Click Here for South Africa's Test record courtesy of Statsguru

Click Here for New Zealand's Test record courtesy of Statsguru

Click Here for a record of all New Zealand v South Africa matches courtesy of Statsguru


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.