New Zealand Rugby
All Blacks in line for further honours
ESPNscrum Staff
November 10, 2011
All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw leads the team out in his 100th cap, New Zealand v France, Rugby World Cup, Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand, September 24, 2011
Could All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw soon be celebrating another honour? © Getty Images

The Rugby World Cup-winning All Blacks dominate the nominees for next month's Steinlager Rugby Awards.

The all-conquering team, several stand-out performers and head coach Graham Henry occupy six of the 13 categories in the awards that honour the best of New Zealand rugby. The Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year will be contested by Ma'a Nonu and Jerome Kaino, both finalists in the International Rugby Board's Player of the Year award, and captain Richie McCaw.

The All Blacks will go head-to-head with the Crusaders, who played the entire Super Rugby season on the ord in the wake of the Christchurch earthquakes, Canterbury, the ITM Cup champions, and the HSBC Sevens World Series-winning New Zealand 7s side for the Team of the Year honour.

Henry, who collected the IRB Coach of the Year title last month, facing competition from New Zealand 7s coach Gordon Tietjens and Canterbury boss Rod Penny for the Coach of the Year award. Blues captain and hooker Keven Mealamu, Highlanders loose forward Adam Thomson and Crusaders prop Wyatt Crockett, all members of the All Blacks' World Cup squad, will do battle for the Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Manawatu fly-half Aaron Cruden, injured on Worls Cup duty, is up against Canterbury loose forward Nasi Manu and Taranaki openside flanker Scott Waldrom for ITM Cup Player of the Year. All Blacks No.9 and his international team-mates Israel Dagg and Cory Jane will vie for the Maori Player of the Year award.

The 2011 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees:

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Jerome Kaino (Auckland, Blues, All Blacks)
Richie McCaw (Canterbury, Crusaders, All Blacks)
Ma'a Nonu (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year
Graham Henry (All Blacks)
Rob Penney (Canterbury)
Gordon Tietjens (New Zealand Sevens)

Team of the Year
All Blacks
New Zealand Sevens

Super Player of the Year
Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders)
Keven Mealamu (Blues)
Adam Thomson (Highlanders)

ITM Cup Player of the Year
Aaron Cruden (Manawatu)
Nasi Manu (Canterbury)
Scott Waldrom (Taranaki)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Israel Dagg, Ngati Kahungunu (Hawkes Bay, Crusaders, All Blacks)
Cory Jane, Ngati Kahungunu (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)
Piri Weepu, Whakatohea (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year
Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty & New Zealand Under 20)
Ardie Savea (Wellington & New Zealand Schools)
Brad Shields (Wellington & New Zealand Under 20)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
Tomasi Cama (Manawatu)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Declan O'Donnell (Waikato)

Referee of the Year Award
Nicky Inwood
Glen Jackson
Bryce Lawrence

NZRU Women's Player of the Year
Nominees to be announced closer to the awards

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Andy MacDonald (Canterbury)
Marty Martin (King Country)
Phil Monk (New Zealand Rugby Museum)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Steelie Koro (Wanganui)
Jason Rickards (Mid Canterbury)
Jon Smyth (Wanganui)

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
Recipient announced on the night

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open