New Zealand Rugby
Kaino scoops NZRU accolade
ESPNscrum Staff
December 1, 2011
Jerome Kaino enjoys a run at All Blacks training, New Zealand training session, Xerox Arena, Port Elizabeth, South Africa, August 14, 2011
Kaino played every minute of the 2011 World Cup bar 55 seconds for the All Blacks © Getty Images
Related Links
Teams: New Zealand

All Blacks flanker Jerome Kaino scooped the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year award at Thursday's Steinlager Rugby Awards in New Zealand.

The blindside pipped World Cup-winning skipper Richie McCaw to the accolade with Ma'a Nonu coming in third. Kaino shone throughout their victorious World Cup campaigning missing just 55 seconds of match time. And the awards did not stop there for the All Blacks with the World Cup winners scooping the 2011 Team of the Year. The Crusaders - who played their entire Super Rugby campaign away from their Christchurch base following February's earthquake - and the HSBC World Series Sevens champions New Zealand were runners up.

And Graham Henry was the man chosen as coach of the year after guiding the All Blacks to World Cup glory and finishing his career with an impressive 88 victories in 103 Tests. Canterbury coach Rod Penny and Sevens boss Gordon Tietjens were also nominated.

Other award winners included Aaron Cruden for ITM Cup Player of the Year, Wyatt Crocket for Super Rugby Player of the Year, Piri Weepu for Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year and Tim Mikkelson scooping the Sevens Player of the Year.

And the awards ceremony also recognised ex-New Zealand international Jock Hobbs. The former New Zealand Rugby Union chairman scooped the Steinlager Salver - a special presentation to honour his contribution to New Zealand rugby.

In a victorious year for the Kiwis, the current chairman of the NZRU Mike Eagle congratulated the award winners saying: "In hosting 2011 Rugby World Cup we took major steps toward rugby's vision to inspire and unify New Zealanders.

"There were many challenges this year, but I am proud to say that we met every one of them head on, and the high standard of nominations and excellence of our winners tonight are evidence of the wonderful success rugby has enjoyed."

The full list of winners:

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year - Sam Cane (Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Under 20)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year - Tim Mikkelson (Waikato, New Zealand Sevens)

NZRU Referee of the Year - Bryce Lawrence

NZRU Women's Player of the Year - Fiao'o Fa'amausili (Auckland, Black Ferns)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year - Andy MacDonald (Canterbury)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year - Wyatt Crockett (Canterbury, Crusaders, All Blacks)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year - Piri Weepu - Whakatohea (Wellington, Hurricanes, All Blacks)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year - Jon Smyth (Wanganui, Heartland XV)

ITM Cup Player of the Year - Aaron Cruden (Manawatu)

adidas Team of the Year - All Blacks

NZRU Coach of the Year - Graham Henry (All Blacks)

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby - Jock Hobbs

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year - Jerome Kaino (Auckland, Blues, All Blacks)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Australian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open