IRB Awards
Carter named IRB Player of the Year
ESPN Staff
December 3, 2012
New Zealand's Dan Carter takes on the Scotland defence, Scotland v New Zealand, Murrayfield, Edinburgh, Scotland, November 11, 2012
New Zealand's Dan Carter edged out team-mate Richie McCaw for the IRB Player of the Year award © Getty Images

New Zealand fly-half Dan Carter has been named the International Rugby Board's Player of the Year.

Carter, who endured a rare poor display as the All Blacks were upset by England at Twickenham on Saturday, beat off competition from team-mate Richie McCaw, England fly-half Owen Farrell and France's Frederic Michalak to claim the sport's highest honour.

The 30-year-old was confirmed as the successor to France's Thierry Dusautoir during the 2015 Rugby World Cup draw ceremony in London on Monday. New Zealand boss Steve Hansen also claimed the Coach of the Year honours in his first season since taking over from World Cup winning coach Graham Henry while the All Blacks also took out the Team of the Year award.

The All Blacks suffered just a single loss all season - the 38-21 defeat at Twickenham - as they claimed the inaugural Rugby Championship crown, whitewashed a touring Ireland and wins over Wales, Italy and Scotland on their end of season tour.

Carter joins McCaw, who won it in 2006, 2009 and 2010, as a multiple winner of the award having been named player of the year in 2005. The Crusaders fly-half has amassed 135 points in nine internationals this season as he bounced back from the despair of missing the All Blacks' World Cup triumph in New Zealand through injury.

IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "New Zealand have again been the stand out team of the year with their 20-match unbeaten run and thoroughly deserve the IRB Team of the Year Award along with Steve Hansen as IRB Coach of the Year for his feats in keeping a Rugby World Cup winning-team winning."

"Dan Carter has bounced back from the disappointment of missing the majority of the World Cup through injury to show what a truly magnificent player he is and a wonderful ambassador for our sport. Winning this Award for the second time reflects his sheer talent and ability."

Previous winners:

2011 - Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 - Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 - Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 - Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 - Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 - Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 - Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 - Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 - Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 - Fabien GalthiƩ (France)
2001 - Keith Wood (Ireland)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Russian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open