Super Rugby round 10
Jamie Joseph makes eight changes
ESPN Staff
April 19, 2013
Highlanders scrum-half Aaron Smith tries to elude the defence, Highlanders v Brumbies, Super Rugby, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, April 12, 2013
Aaron Smith made an impact from the bench against the Brumbies © Getty Images

Highlanders coach Jamie Joseph has made eight changes to the starting team that played the Brumbies in Dunedin last Friday night, two positional, as the Super Rugby cellar dwellers seek their first win of the season.

Tony Woodcock and Chris King return to prop captain Andrew Hore in the front row, with Jamie Mackintosh and Ma'afu Fia joining the reserves, while Josh Bekhuis is recalled to lock alongside Brad Thorn.

TJ Ioane moves from blindside flanker to No. 8 to replace Mose Tuiali'I, who has a knee, with Jarrad Hoeata moved from the second row to wear the No. 6 jumper.

All Blacks scrum-half Aaron Smith is recalled to the starting side at the expense of Fumiaki Tanaka, with Jason Emery replacing Phil Burleigh in the centres outside Ma'a Nonu and Tony Ensor given his first start of the season on the left wing.

Highlanders: Ben Smith; Tony Ensor, Jason Emery, Ma'a Nonu, Hosea Gear; Hayden Parker, Aaron Smith; TJ Ioane, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata; Josh Bekhuis, Brad Thorn; Chris King, Andrew Hore (captain), Tony Woodcock. Replacements: Liam Coltman, Ma'afu Fia, Jamie Mackintosh, Elliot Dixon, Fumiaka Tanaka, Colin Slade, Jake Paringatai.

© ESPN Australia / New Zealand

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.