New Zealand
Kieran Read in line for another award
ESPN Staff
January 2, 2014
Kieran Read has already won three major awards for his form in 2013 © Getty Images

Rugby Test Team of the Year


Finalists for 51st Halberg Awards

  • Sportsman of the Year: Aaron Gate (cycling), Andrew Nicholson (equestrian), Kieran Read (rugby), Scott Dixon (motorsport)
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Lauren Boyle (swimming), Lisa Carrington (canoeing), Lydia Ko (golf), Valerie Adams (athletics)
  • Team of the Year: All Blacks (rugby), Black Sox (softball), Men's Pair Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), Women's 470 - Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (yachting) and Men's 49er Class Team - Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (yachting)
  • Coach of the Year: Eddie Kohlhase (softball), Guy Wilson (golf), Nathan Handley (yachting), Steve Hansen (rugby)
  • Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: David Monk (blind bowling), Mary Fisher (para swimming), Mike Johnson (para shooting), Sophie Pascoe (para swimming)
  • Emerging Talent: Ella Williams (surfing), Gabrielle Fa'amausili (swimming), Jake Lewis (motorcycling), Tom Murray (rowing)

Kieran Read is in the running to be named New Zealand Sportsman of the Year at the annual Halberg Awards, after the announcement of the finalists in six categories.

The All Blacks No.8 is up against world champion track cyclist Aaron Gate, world No.1-ranked equestrian rider Andrew Nicholson and IndyCar champion driver Scott Dixon for the leading individual award in New Zealand sport.

Read has already won a trio of rugby awards for his form in 2013 - International Rugby Board World Player of the Year, New Zealand Player of the Year and International Rugby Players Association Player of the Year.

Steve Hansen is among the four final nominees for Coach of the Year, while the All Blacks are up against the Black Sox (New Zealand's world champion men's softball team), the all-conquering men's rowing pair Hamish Bond and Eric Murray, and sailing pairs Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie, and Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, for the Team of the Year award.

The nominees were selected by a voting academy consisting of 30 former athletes, coaches and media representatives, the panel choosing the finalists from a list of 58 nominations.

When selecting the finalists, voting academy members were instructed to determine whether the nominees' achievements represented excellence in sport at the highest level. They also considered if success had been achieved in the respective sport's "pinnacle event", whether it was a world record, a world ranking or recognition, the quality of the field or competition, and the global nature of the sport.

The Halberg Awards winners will be named at a gala function on February 13.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open