Australia 7s squad named
March 23, 2008

Australian Sevens coach Bill Millard has today finalised a squad of 12 players for the upcoming Hong Kong and Adelaide legs of the iRB Sevens World Series.

Dual international Andrew Walker and Queensland Reds winger Caleb Brown have both been called up to make their debuts in Hong Kong and will be joined by fellow debutant Willie Bishop.

Western Force youngster James O'Connor is in line to make his first appearance on the iRB circuit after impressing during Australia's strong performance at the Darwin invitational earlier this year.

Shawn Mackay will again captain the team and is joined by experienced Sevens trio Damon Murphy, Luke Inman and James Lew.

Coach Bill Millard said the final squad has a good blend of Super 14 experience and crucial Sevens knowledge.

"This is a well-balanced squad who know Sevens rugby," said Millard.

"Already we have a strong positive culture within the group and good depth which is really important at this level."

The team departs for Hong Kong on Monday where Assistant Coach and Ambassador David Campese will join the squad.

Mark Ella will join the coaching squad in Adelaide from April 1.

Australian Sevens Squad for HK & Adelaide legs of iRB Sevens World Series
1. Shawn Mackay (c) - Randwick NSW
2. Willie Bishop - Warringah NSW
3. Caleb Brown - Queensland Reds
4. Ross Duncan - Warringah NSW
5. Luke Inman - Sydney University NSW
6. Luke Johnson - Manly NSW
7. James Lew - Norths NSW
8. Damon Murphy - Brothers QLD
9. James O'Connor - Western Force
10. Peter Owens - Warringah NSW
11. Andrew Walker - Queensland Reds
12. Tim Wright - Randwick NSW

Coach: Bill Millard
Manager: Andrew Logan
Physio: Alan Davies
Strength & Conditioning Trainer: Scott Wilson


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open