Eagles name side to face Ireland A
June 10, 2008

U.S. Eagles Head Coach Scott Johnson has made some adjustments to his team lineup set to take on Ireland A in its second round of matches in the 2008 Barclays Churchill Cup at Richardson's Stadium in Kingston, Ontario on Wednesday, June 11 at 7:05 p.m.

With the arrival of the rest of the U.S. players as late as today from their clubs overseas, Johnson finally has a complete squad and will use the newcomers in the upcoming match against Ireland.

"Between the short turnaround and the need to see different players and what they can do, we have a pretty different squad set to take on Ireland," Johnson said. "We did try to keep a few combinations for continuity, but I'm still exploring what's in the squad so I can see who has the talent and the ability to adapt to the new law changes.

"It's nice to have the entire squad finally arrive," he added. "It definitely broadens the base and allows for more competition for spots. The more competition, the better off the team is."

Considering 2007 RWC players Takudzwa Ngwenya and Salesi Sika have both just arrived from their clubs in France, they will join the roster as wings. Taku will find his place waiting as #14, while Justin Boyd will start at #11, and Sika will most likely be utilized as a sub at #22. Other changes include Kort Schubert seeing time as the #8, Brian Doyle starting at second row, Vaha Esikia starting as the inside center, and Jon Vitale on the roster as a prop replacement.

The U.S. Team Lineup for its match against Ireland 'A' includes:

15. Chris Wyles (Old Mission Beach Athletic Club)
14. Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz, France)
13. Paul Emerick (Newport Gwent Dragons)
12. Vaha Esikia (Las Vegas Blackjacks)
11. Justin Boyd (Texas A&M)
10. Mike Hercus (IBM, Japan)
9. Mike Petri (NYAC)
1. Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie)
2. Mark Crick (Potomac Athletic Club)
3. Mate Moeakiola (Pukekohe, NZ)
4. Ben Wiedemer (Belmont Shore)
5. Brian Doyle (NYAC)
6. Todd Clever (Old Mission Beach A.C.) Captain
7. Jason Lett (Boston Irish Wolfhounds)
8. Kort Schubert (Olympic Club)

16. Mone Laulaupeaalu (San Francisco Golden Gate)
17. Jon Vitale (Chicago Lions)
18. Mark Aylor (Life University)
19. Louis Stanfill (UC Berkeley)
20. Robbie Shaw (Connacht & Galwegians)
21. Valanese Malifa (Belmont Shore)
22. Salesi Sika (Beziers, France)

© Scrum.com

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open