Japan 32-17 USA
Japan complete series win over USA
Japan Rugby
November 22, 2008
Date/Time: Nov 22, 2008, 19:00 local, 10:00 GMT
Venue: Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium
Japan 32 - 17 United States of America
Attendance: 11836  Half-time: 19 - 10
Tries: Hatakeyama, Kikutani, Tomioka, Webb
Cons: Nicholas 3
Pens: Nicholas 2
Tries: Ngwenya, van der Giessen, Wyles
Cons: Hercus
Todd Clever of USA catches the ball during Lipobitan D Challenge 2008 match between Japan and USA at Prince Chichibu Memorial Rugby Stadium in Tokyo, Japan on November 22, 2008.
The United States' Todd Clever claims a lineout ball during the clash at the Prince Chichibu Memorial Ground in Tokyo
© Getty Images

Japan made history Saturday by beating the United States for the second straight time, winning a hard fought encounter at the Prince Chichibu Memorial Ground 32-17.

It was the first time in 18 meetings that Japan has recorded back-to-back wins over the Eagles and left coach John Kirwan a happy man. "I am very, very proud of the players," Kirwan said. "We talked about history and beating them in consecutive games. That was a really tough physical and mental performance."

Kensuke Hatakeyama, Koji Tomioka, Shaun Webb and Takashi Kikutani all crossed for Japan, with Ryan Nicholas adding three conversions and two penalties.

The Eagles' points came from tries by Chris Wyles, Takudzwa Ngwenya and John Van Der Giessen with Mike Hercus successful with one conversion.

"It was an entertaining game," said Eagles coach Scott Johnson. "There were some good tries. If I was a spectator I would have enjoyed it. But I am a coach so I didn't."

The Eagles got off to the ideal start with Wyles crossing with just two minutes on the clock. Japan fought back, however, and Hatakeyama finished off a superb driving maul to bring the sides level.

The Japan backs then took over with Tomioka and Webb crossing following superb backline moves and Japan seemed to be in the driving seat. But Yusuke Aoki and Bryce Robins were sent to the sin bin within two minutes of each other and Ngwenya made the extra men count, sprinting over to make it 19-10 at the break.

Nicholas opened the second half with a penalty before another historic moment - the first try in Japan to be awarded by the Television Match Official as Van Der Giessen won the race to touch down a charged down kick. Kikutani then showed just why he was picked as Japan's new captain.

The flanker came into the line out wide and, following a slight show of the ball, sprinted over for the decisive try in the 63rd minute.

"Kiku has really stood up and taken on the leadership role," said Kirwan. "This has been a really positive month for us."

Japan (19) 32
Tries: Hatakeyama, Tomioka, Webb, Kikutani
Con: Nicholas (3)
Pen: Nicholas (2)

USA (10) 17
Tries: Wyles, Ngwenya, Van Der Giessen
Con: Hercus

Japan: Kaoru Matsushita (Yamaha Jubilo), Kosuke Endo (Toyota Verblitz), Bryce Robins (NEC Green Rockets), Ryan Nicholas (Suntory Sungoliath), Koji Tomioka (Yamaha Jubilo), Shaun Webb (World Fighting Bull), Fumiaki Tanaka (Sanyo Wild Knights), Hisateru Hirashima (Kobelco Steelers), Yusuke Aoki (Suntory Sungoliath), Kensuke Hatakeyama (Suntory Sungoliath), Hitoshi Ono (Toshiba Brave Lupus), Toshizumi Kitagawa (Toyota Verblitz), Michael Leitch (Tokai University), Takashi Kikutani (Toyota Verblitz, captain), Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Sanyo Wild Knights)

Replacements: Naonori Mizuyama (NEC Green Rockets), Naoki Kawamata (Sanyo Wild Knights), Luke Thompson (Kintetsu Liners), Masato Toyoda (Toyota Verblitz), Masakazu Irie (Sanyo Wild Knights), Piei Mafileo (Nihon University)

USA: Chris Wyles (Saracens), Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz), Paul Emerick (Overmach Parma), Junior Sifa (Middleton), Gavin DeBartolo (Eastern Suburbs), Mike Hercus (IBM), Mike Petri (NYAC), Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie), Mark Crick (Potomac Athletic Club), Brian Lemay (Boston Irish Wolfhounds), John VanderGiessen (Denver Barbarians), Hayden Smith (Saracens), Inaki Basauri (Agen), Todd Clever (Xerox Lions, captain), Pat Quinn (Denver Barbarians)

Replacements: Joseph Welch (Cal), Matekitonga Moeakiola (Unattached), Courtney Mackay (Auckland Development), J.J. Gagiano (University of Cape Town), Chad Erskine (Rotherham), Thretton Palamo (Biarritz), Valenese Malifa (Belmont Shore)

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

© Scrum.com

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open