Aviva Premiership
Robshaw nominated for award
ESPNscrum Staff
April 24, 2012

Harlequins and England skipper Chris Robshaw could cap a remarkable year with the Aviva Premiership Player of the Year award after being named on the six-man shortlist.

The flanker has had an impressive season where he guided Harlequins to a 14-match unbeaten run at the start of the campaign and went on to captain England during the 2012 Six Nations.

He is joined on the shortlist by fellow England internationals Saracens' Brad Barritt and Harlequins' Mike Brown. Also featuring on the six man list are Leicester Tigers flanker Julian Salvi, Gloucester prop Nick Wood and Exeter Chiefs flanker James Scaysbrook.

The panel who decided on the final shortlist were: Miles Harrison (Sky Sports), Alastair Eykyn (BBC 5 Live), Mick Cleary (Daily Telegraph), Ian Stafford (Mail on Sunday), Nick Mullins (ESPN), David Rogers (Getty Images), and Alan Pearey (Rugby World).

Reports in the Daily Telegraph also suggest that the likes of Harlequins fly-half Nick Evans, Tigers prop Marcus Ayerza and Gloucester backs Freddie Burns, Henry Trinder, Charlie Sharples and Jonny May were also in the running but failed to make the cut.

In the QBE director of rugby of the season award, Exeter Chiefs' Rob Baxter has made the three-man list. He is joined by Leicester Tigers' Richard Cockerill and Harlequins' Conor O'Shea.

The winner will be unveiled on May 8.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Belgian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open