Aviva Premiership
Bath lead way for Discovery of the Season award
ESPN Staff
April 29, 2014
George Ford is up for Discovery of the Season © Getty Images

Bath lead the way in nominations for the Land Rover Discovery of the Season award.

Previous Winners

  • 2012-13: Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
  • 2011-12: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
  • 2010-11: Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
  • 2009-10: Ben Youngs, (Leicester Tigers)
  • 2008-9: Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
  • 2007-8: Danny Cipriani (London Wasps)
  • 2006-7: Tom Rees (London Wasps)
  • 2005-6: Tom Varndell (Leicester Tigers)
  • 2004-5: Ollie Smith, (Leicester Tigers)

Bath duo George Ford and Anthony Watson are up for the award while Northampton, Saracens, Leicester and Gloucester all have one player on the six-man shortlist. Saints winger Jamie Elliott gets the nod alongside Saracens' Billy Vunipola, Leicester's Owen Williams and Gloucester's Elliot Stooke.

"The 2013-14 campaign has been a remarkable season for the emergence of quality, young players into Aviva Premiership rugby," said Mike Hynard Premiership Rugby's head of academies and development. "More academy graduates are breaking through into Aviva Premiership Rugby sides every season.

"The result of this is an England squad that gets younger and younger, with the likes of Jack Nowell and George Ford now getting opportunities on the international stage. This is a direct result of the expertise, hard work and increasing investment into the Premiership Rugby clubs' academy programmes.

The winner will be announced on May 15.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open