J.P Morgan Premiership 7s Series Final
Ashton omitted for Sevens Series final
ESPN Staff
August 6, 2013
London Irish won last year's Sevens Series © Getty Images

The J.P Morgan Asset Management Premiership Rugby Sevens Series takes place at Bath's Recreation Ground on Friday evening and with the title-holders London Irish knocked out in the Pool Stage, there will be a new team left holding the trophy at the end of the night.

The Exiles failed to get through a Pool where they vied with Saracens,Harlequins and London Wasps for a place in Friday's final. In their absence, Saracens and Harlequins progressed with the latter scooping three wins from three. They will be joined by round one winners Worcester Warriors who qualified alongside Gloucester. And round two saw the newly promoted Newcastle Falcons book their spot in the final with Leicester Tigers progressing after winning two from three.

The teams picked see a mixture of youth and experience brought together with 2011 winners Newcastle and the team who triumphed in 2010 Saracens both setting their sights on regaining the title.

Worcester, skippered by Richard de Carpentier, have handed a start to summer recruit Cameron Goodhue. Gloucester will be captained by Martyn Thomas while Test back-row Akapusi Qera is retained in the side. Friday's winners Newcastle will be captained by Warren Fury with Leicester including England age-group caps George Tresidder and Harry Thacker in their team.

Harlequins have received a blow ahead of the final with Ollie Lindsay-Hague and Ross Chisholm missing out while Saracens have opted to leave out England winger Chris Ashton.

Worcester Warriors took the opening night of the Sevens Series at Kingsholm © Getty Images

Worcester Warriors:
Richard de Carpentier (c), Cameron Goodhue, Andrew Boyce, James Stephenson, Paul Hodgson, Tom Chapman, Tiff Eden, Max Stelling, Rhys Owen, Ben Howard, Reece Chapman-Carry, George de Cothi

Martyn Thomas (c), Jonny Hill, Will Hayward, Akapusi Qera, Andrew Bulumakau, Matt Cox, Nevaro Codlin, Gareth Evans, Rhodri McAtee, Billy Burns, Steph Reynolds, Drew Cheshire

Newcastle Falcons celebrate their success last Friday at Franklin's Gardens © Getty Images

Newcastle Falcons:
Harrison Collins, Ben Morris, Richard Mayhew, Glen Young, Michael Tait, Tom Catterick, Chris York, Warren Fury (c), Andy Davies, Joel Hodgson, Sean Brown, Simon Hammersley

Leicester Tigers:
David Williams, Jake Farnworth, Steve Wood, Ollie Turton, James Thomas, Stef Jones, Rhodri Davis, Steff Andrews, George Tresidder, Tahir El Mahdi, Scott Steele (c), Harry Thacker

Harlequins took Friday's leg at the Allianz Stadium © Getty Images

Miles Mantella, Dave Ward (c), Patrice Agunda, Harry Sloan, Jeremy Manning, Joe Trayfoot, Sam Arnold, Jack Clifford, Jordan Burns, Louis Grimoldby, Steve Hamilton, Charlie Walker

Eoin Sherrif, Jack Wilson, Scott Spurling, Tim Streather, Nils Mordt, Nick Tompkins, Aaron Morris, Ben Ransom, Luke Baldwin, Michael Tagicakibau, Sam Stanley, Matt Hankin

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.