Ireland v Samoa, Aviva Stadium, November 13
New-look Ireland face rugged Samoa
ESPNscrum Staff
November 11, 2010
Ireland 'A' flanker Sean O'Brien looks for the ball, England Saxons v Ireland 'A', Recreation Ground, Bath, England, January 31, 2010
Sean O'Brien starts for Ireland © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Samoa tour
Teams: Ireland | Samoa

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has made widespread changes to his side for Saturday's clash with Samoa at Lansdowne Road.

Leinster lock Devin Toner will win his first senior cap in the second row this as one of 11 changes, including a positional switch, to the starting team that were beaten 23-21 by South Africa last weekend.

Toner will be partnered by the experienced Donncha O'Callaghan and they will be supporting a new front row of Tom Court, Sean Cronin and John Hayes. Denis Leamy and Sean O'Brien are called into the back row, with Jamie Heaslip retaining the No.8 jersey.

Luke Fitzgerald makes the switch from wing to fullback, with Andrew Trimble coming into the vacant left wing position. Paddy Wallace also comes into the team at inside centre to partner captain Brian O'Driscoll, and Ronan O'Gara and Peter Stringer, both used as replacements against South Africa, will form the starting half-back combination.

Samoa have named a powerful side, with nine of their number plying their trade in England or France. London Irish centre Seilala Mapusua is joined in the starting line-up by club team-mate George Stowers while Zak Taulafo and David Lemi form a two-man Wasps contingent. Sale's Paul Williams starts at fullback and is joined in the back-three by Lemi and Leicester's Alesana Tuilagi.

Clermont Auvergne's Tasesa Lavea starts at fly-half while his domestic team-mates Ti'I Paulo and Gavin Williams are named among the replacements. The side will be captained by Taranaki hooker Mahonri Schwalger, who was this week confirmed in the Highlanders squad for the inaugural Super Rugby season in 2011, while Newcastle lock Filipo Levi partners Southland's Kane Thompson in the second-row.

Ireland: L Fitzgerald (Leinster); T Bowe (Ospreys), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), P Wallace (Ulster), A Trimble (Ulster); R O'Gara (Munster), P Stringer (Munster); T Court (Ulster), S Cronin (Connacht), J Hayes (Munster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), D Toner (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), S O'Brien (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster)

Replacements: R Best (Ulster), C Healy (Leinster), D Ryan (Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), I Boss (Leinster), J Sexton (Leinster), K Earls (Munster)

Samoa: P Williams (Sale), D Lemi (Wasps), G Pisi (Taranaki), S Mapusua (London Irish), A Tuilagi (Leicester); T Lavea (Clermont), K Fotuali'i (Canterbury); S Taulafo (Wasps), M Schwalger (Taranaki, capt), A Perenise (Hawke's Bay), F Levi (Newcastle), K Thompson (Southland), O Trevarinus (Malie), M Salavea (Narbonne), G Stowers (London Irish)

Replacements: T Paulo (Clermont), S Lemalu (Counties Manukau), I Tekori (Castres), A Aiono (Leulumoega), J Poluleuligaga (Exeter), G Williams (Clermont), J Helleur (Auckland)

Referee: Keith Brown (NZ)
Assistant Referees: Jerome Garces (Fra), Neil Paterson (Sco)
TMO: Geoff Warren (Eng)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open