England v Scotland, Six Nations, Twickenham, March 13
Four changes for Scotland
ESPNscrum Staff
March 9, 2011
Scotland wing Simon Danielli, Scotland v England, Six Nations, Murrayfield, Edinburgh, March 13, 2010
Simon Danielli has been recalled out wide by Scotland © Getty Images

Scotland boss Andy Robinson has made four changes for Sunday's Calcutta Cup clash with Grand Slam-chasing England at Twickenham.

In the backs, Ulster's Simon Danielli, Northampton's Joe Ansbro and Gloucester's Rory Lawson are recalled while Leinster's Nathan Hines adds extra grunt to the back-row following a narrow loss to Ireland at Murrayfield last time out.

Scotland have not won at Twickenham for 28 years and former England coach Robinson has gambled on added cutting edge by selecting Ansbro at outside-centre in place of Nick De Luca and Danielli on the wing, with the Ospreys' Nikki Walker out of the 22.

Lawson replaces Mike Blair at scrum-half and Hines takes over the No.6 jersey from Kelly Brown, who moves to No.8 in place of the axed Johnnie Beattie. Gloucester flanker Alasdair Strokosch joins Richie Vernon as back-row cover.

Glasgow youngster Ruaridh Jackson has retained the No.10 jersey ahead of Dan Parks, with Chris Paterson again named at fullback.

"The record books show what a special achievement it would be for the Scotland team to win on Sunday," Robinson said. "That is our intention and we firmly believe that if we can deliver a sustained, intelligent and ruthless performance then we can achieve our first win of this season's Championship.

"England have played some good rugby but Sunday is about our performance. Simon Danielli and Rory Lawson have both been playing well for their clubs and Joe Ansbro was unfortunate to miss the game against Ireland through injury, while Nathan Hines' experience will be an asset for us in our back-row."

Scotland: C Paterson (Edinburgh); S Danielli (Ulster), J Ansbro (Northampton), S Lamont (Scarlets) M Evans (Glasgow Warriors); R Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), R Lawson (Gloucester); A Jacobsen (Edinburgh), R Ford (Edinburgh), M Low (Glasgow Warriors), R Gray (Glasgow Warriors), A Kellock (Glasgow Warriors, captain), N Hines (Leinster), J Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), K Brown (Saracens)

Replacements: S Lawson (Gloucester), G Cross (Edinburgh), R Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), A Strokosch (Gloucester), M Blair (Edinburgh), D Parks (Cardiff Blues), N De Luca (Edinburgh)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.