Rugby World Cup
Four new caps in Scotland squad
ESPNscrum Staff
May 10, 2011

Scotland boss Andy Robinson has named four uncapped players in his provisional 40-man Rugby World Cup squad.

Glasgow forwards Rob Harley and Ryan Grant are joined on the panel by Bath fullback Jack Cuthbert and Edinburgh's Dave Denton, with 10 players to be culled from the squad following warm-up Tests against Ireland and Italy. A deadline of August 22 has been set for the final 30-man squad to be named.

At the other end of the scale, fullback Chris Paterson could become the first Scottish player to play at four World Cups after being retained following the Six Nations.

"I'm pleased with the squad. There's a good blend of the experienced, the battle-hardened and up and coming talent," Robinson said. "The task that lies ahead for these players now is to be at the very peak of their powers in order to do themselves, their families, friends and country proud in New Zealand in September and October.

"Scotland have always qualified from the Pool stages to reach the quarter-finals at the six previous Rugby World Cup tournaments and that has to be our first target this autumn."

Scotland will face Argentina, England, Georgia and Romania in New Zealand, with Scotland-based players beginning preparations on June 20. Discussions are ongoing with Premier Rugby over the release of squad members playing in England.

Provisional Scotland Rugby World Cup squad:

Backs - Joe Ansbro (Northampton Saints); Mike Blair, Ben Cairns (both Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Jack Cuthbert (Bath), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais), Nikki Walker (Ospreys)

Forwards - John Barclay, John Beattie (both Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Ryan Grant, Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (all Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Fergus Thomson, Richie Vernon (both Glasgow Warriors)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.