Scotland v Australia
Scotland wait on naming backs for Australia
ESPN Staff
November 20, 2013
Jim Hamilton will win his 50th cap for Scotland on Saturday © Getty Images

Scotland have made the unusual call of naming their forwards for Saturday's Test against Australia but are yet to name their backs.

Scotland had an unprecedented injury toll of 11 injured as a result of their bruising 28-0 loss to South Africa on Saturday and as a result, they are waiting on the fitness of Tommy Seymour before confirming just who will face Australia this weekend.

But they have confirmed who will line-up in the pack with Jim Hamilton winning his 50th cap for Scotland. Elsewhere Glasgow Warriors team-mates prop Ryan Grant and lock Tim Swinson return to the starting line-up for Alasdair Dickinson and Richie Gray.

In the back-row Kelly Brown takes on the captaincy and partners Dave Denton and Johnnie Beattie, who overtakes his father John on 26 caps.

"A six day turn-around from one Test match to another is always a challenge and it's one we'll face in our opening two games of the Six Nations Championship too," interim Scotland coach Johnson said. "Tommy [Seymour] took a bang on the leg against South Africa at the weekend so we're looking to give him every opportunity to prove his fitness. We'll finalise our starting back division and bench once we have an update there."

And Johnson is hoping to see his team bounce back against Australia as they trial some new combinations. He added: "We're clear in what we're trying to do at the moment which is look at different combinations with a view to intensifying the competition for places in the team. That mantra doesn't change, so we adhere to the plan, while dealing with injuries and while always being true to the jersey.

"Australia played some quality rugby against Ireland last weekend and we're very much looking forward to renewing rivalry with them on Saturday."


Backs from: Sean Maitland, Max Evans, Tommy Seymour, Mark Bennett, Nick De Luca, Duncan Taylor, Sean Lamont, Ruaridh Jackson, Duncan Weir, Chris Cusiter, Greig Laidlaw

Forwards: Ryan Grant, Ross Ford, Moray Low, Tim Swinson, Jim Hamilton, Johnnie Beattie, Kelly Brown, David Denton

Replacements: Pat MacArthur, Alasdair Dickinson, Euan Murray, Grant Gilchrist, Kieran Low, TBC

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.