Nambia XV 7-36 South Africa XV
South Africa XV labour past Namibia XV
May 29, 2009
South Africa winger Odwa Ndungane in action during a training session, LC de Villiers Stadium, Pretoria, South Africa, May 26, 2009
Sharks winger Odwa Ndungane scored two tries for the South Africa XV © Getty Images

The South Africa XV notched a 36-7 victory over a Namibia XV at the Hage Geingob Stadiumin Windhoek.

The second string Springboks, in their only warm-up outing before taking on the British & Irish Lions, led just 8-7 at half-time before raising their game after the break.

In a scrappy first-half the visitors edged ahead with a try from winger Odwa Ndungane on the quarter-hour in a length-of-the-field move and they stretched their lead with a penalty from fly-half Peter Grant.

Namibia XV prop Kees Lensing reduced the arrears with a try before half-time and the conversion from former Bulls and Springbok fly-half Derick Hougaard brought his side to within a point as they headed into the break.

Ndungane grabbed his second score Earl Rose intercepted a pass on his own line before feeding Ryan Kankowski - the No.8 then raced downfield before offloading to his Sharks team mate for the try.

That score appeared to break the hosts' resolve and further tries followed from Juan Smith, Johann Muller, Jean de Villiers ensured a comprehensive yet far from impressive victory.

The error-strewn performance from the South Africans will have given Springboks coach Peter de Villiers plenty of food for thought with less than a month until the start of their eagerly-anticipated three-Test series with the Lions.

Namibia XV (7) 7
Try: Lensing
Con: Hougaard

South Africa XV (8) 36
Tries: Ndungane (2), Smith, Muller, De Villiers
Con: Grant, Rose (3)
Pen: Grant.

Namibia XV: Jaco van der Westhuyzen; Llewellyn Winckler, Frikkie Welsh, Wayne Julies, John Mametsa; Derick Hougaard, JP Joubert; Dries van Schalkwyk, Jacques Nieuwenhuys, Jacques Burger, Nico Esterhuizen, Marco Wentzel, Ruan Vermeulen, Danie Coetzee, Kees Lensing (capt).

Replacements: Hugo Horn, Johnny Redelinghuys, Marius Visser, Fudge Mabeta, Thinus du Plessis, Jurie van Tonder, Chrysander Botha.

South Africa XV: Earl Rose, Jongi Nokwe, Morgan Newman, Meyer Bosman, Odwa Ndungane, Peter Grant, Ricky Januarie, Ryan Kankowski, Jean Deysel, Heinrich Brussow, Andries Bekker, Johann Muller, John Smit (capt), Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez, Steven Sykes, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Jano Vermaak, Jean de Villiers, Adi Jacobs, JP Pietersen


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.