The Tri-Nations is the premier southern hemisphere competition. It is contested annually by Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. The launch of the Tri-Nations in 1996 was the culmination of a long standing desire to create an equivalent to the northern hemisphere's Five Nations Championship

Each team plays each other three times, expanded from two in 2006, with home advantage for two out of three of the games alternating on a yearly basis. Four points are awarded for a win and two for a draw with a bonus points system also used to reward teams for scoring four or more tries and losing by less than seven points.

Argentina were provisionally added to the tournament in 2009, with their involvement set to begin in 2012 should a stringent set of protocols be achieved.

Year Winners
1996 New Zealand
1997 New Zealand
1998 South Africa
1999 New Zealand
2000 Australia
2001 Australia
2002 New Zealand
2003 New Zealand
2004 South Africa
2005 New Zealand
2006 New Zealand
2007 New Zealand
2008 New Zealand
2009 South Africa
2010 New Zealand
2011 Australia
2012 New Zealand
2013 New Zealand
2014 New Zealand

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.