England v New Zealand, Twickenham, November 21
Shaw bolsters England pack
November 19, 2009
New Zealand's Dan Carter is all-smiles in Milan, All Blacks training session, Palalido, Milan, Italy, November 9, 2009
Dan Carter returns at fly-half for the All Blacks © Getty Images

England manager Martin Johnson has made three changes to his side to face New Zealand at Twickenham on Saturday, recalling veteran lock Simon Shaw and dropping youngsters Tom Croft and Shane Geraghty. Johnson has reacted following a dismal display in a 16-9 victory over Argentina last weekend.

Shaw replaces Louis Deacon in the second-row and will play his first Test since the British & Irish Lions tour ended with a victory over the Springboks in Johannesburg. Croft has lost his blindside berth to Joe Worsley while the grunt of Biarritz centre Ayoola Erinle has been preferred to the more expressive Geraghty.

Croft's omission is a disappointing end to a week which saw the three Test British & Irish Lion named as an IRB World Player of the Year nominee.

There is also a positional change in the back-three, where Ugo Monye's nightmare showing at fullback against the Pumas has seen him shifted to his preferred wing position. Mark Cueto goes the other way and will start his fourth Test in the No.15 jersey, his first since the 2007 Rugby World Cup.

New Zealand coach Graham Henry has recalled his big-guns, with Dan Carter returning to the fly-half berth after serving his one-week suspension.

He partners Jimmy Cowan at halfback, Andy Ellis dropping to the bench following last weekend's win in Italy and Mike Delany missing out on the 22. Tony Woodcock will also win his first cap on tour after recovering from a back problem and he is joined in the front-row by Owen Franks.

Tom Donnelly and Brad Thorn start in the second-row while Adam Thomson has beaten Jerome Kaino to the blindside jersey. Richie McCaw and Kieran Read return to complete the back-row.

England: Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks); Matt Banahan (Bath), Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers), Ayoola Erinle (Biarritz), Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Tim Payne (London Wasps), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Duncan Bell (Bath), Simon Shaw (London Wasps), Steve Borthwick (Saracens, capt), Joe Worsley (London Wasps), Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (Stade Francais)

Replacements: Steve Thompson (Brive), David Wilson (Bath), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Danny Care (Harlequins), Shane Geraghty (Northampton Saints), Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)

New Zealand: Mils Muliaina (Waikato); Zac Guildford (Hawke's Bay), Conrad Smith (Wellington), Ma'a Nonu (Wellington), Sitiveni Sivivatu (Waikato); Dan Carter (Canterbury), Jimmy Cowan (Southland); Tony Woodcock (North Harbour), Andrew Hore (Taranaki), Owen Franks (Canterbury), Brad Thorn (Tasman), Tom Donnelly (Otago), Adam Thomson (Otago), Richie McCaw (capt) (Canterbury), Kieran Read (Canterbury)

Replacements: Aled de Malmanche (Waikato), John Afoa (Auckland), Anthony Boric (North Harbour), Jerome Kaino (Auckland), Andy Ellis (Canterbury), Stephen Donald (Waikato), Tamati Ellison (Wellington)

© Scrum.com

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Singapore GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open